Schengen medical certificate

The Schengen Agreement requires that an individual travelling in the Schengen area in possession of narcotic or psychotropic drugs must be able to provide a medical certificate to demonstrate the necessity of the drugs.

The Schengen states are Finland, Sweden, Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Germany, Belgium, France, Netherlands, Austria, Luxembourg, Spain, Portugal, Italy, Cyprus, Greece, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia and Malta.

A pharmacy can fill in and sign the certificate. The certificate may be given when a medicine is dispensed or afterwards in the same pharmacy where the drug was dispensed.

The Schegen medical certificate costs 10 EUR.